Dagwood

Some things in life are best measured by your sense of contentment.  A day spent without drama, without a busy schedule and without personal obligations can be quite enjoyable.  That’s when the cookbooks are grabbed off the shelf, the sewing machine is dusted off and brought out for a spin, the half-finished painting that hasn’t been worked on in 6 years is located and pondered over, that novel you’ve been mulling over for the past 20 years comes to mind and many more pleasant diversions; I could go on, but I’ll spare you.

Today is one of those days.  While I sit on the couch, tapping away on my laptop and ignoring “Pride and Prejudice” because I’ve already seen it 100 times but still adore it, my daughter is in the kitchen creating a monstrously wonderful Dagwood sandwich.  How are we going to eat it?

The ingredients

The ingredients

We got it!

Dagwood

Adding stability

Removing center skewer

Slicing all the way down

Slicing all the way down

Et voila!

Et voila!

Plated

Plated

I can't believe I ate all that!

I can’t believe I ate all that!

In the end, we had to pick up the sandwich by the skewers and just treat it like a corncob!  Not too pretty, but really tasty.  Personally, I think I won’t be requesting these monstrosities in the future.  They’re more eye candy and not very practical to eat!  I must admit, though, that one half of a sandwich is very filling.

For the specifics on this and cool culinary tips, go to http://culinarianonsequitur.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/the-dagwood-an-expedition-into-unreasonable-gluttony/

Now to my knitting…

Let's hear what you're thinking!

