Progress at Last

At this point it was so tight I thought the yarn would snap!

It started out easy enough.  I saw a wonderful pattern for a purse and I had to have it, so I purchased it and all the goodies that go with it and started with my usual verve and gusto at the beginning of a project.  First sign I was going to have trouble was when the bottom strip was turned into a complete circle and working in the round began.  Ay-yi-yi!  The author did warn that it would be a little tight.  I swear, everything was squeaking!  But I persevered.

Then I had to figure out how to do the particular loop stitch that she defined.  I was literally scratching my head and cocking it to the side in hopes that I might understand!  I would sleep on it for a night, and then, enlightenment.  Ah.  And then I’d get real happy then realize that my stitch count was off.  And we had to go back several times because of my enthusiasm.  *note to self:  don’t have a compelling television drama going while you’re knitting*

Now we're jammin'.

Now we’re jammin’.

There were also several other rounds of instruction that had me baffled. I don’t why, because they were easy enough and in standard knit language.  Sometimes, I think I may just work myself up to thinking it’s going to be difficult, when in fact, it’s not.

So, we have overcome some obstacles and it’s starting to look like the beautiful purse I saw pictured and there just doesn’t seem to be enough time – or I don’t get the time – to work on this.

Now, after having said I shouldn’t work myself up into a frenzy of worry, guess what I’m doing?  To finish this purse, I will have to line it.  I mean, I guess I really don’t have to, but I want to.  Knit and crochet purses generally need lining or they can’t hold anything.  And you’re thinking “Get to the point”.  Shush!  I will.  I don’t sew.  I mean, not really.  And of course, the lining must be sewed.

So, don’t be surprised if I post another blog with me crying that I ruined everything because I messed up the interfacing or something!  I’m keeping my fingers crossed, everyone.

Pssst….I still can’t wait to finish it!!

Let's hear what you're thinking!

