Buttermilk and coffee…MMmm…hm? yuck!

Now, imagine being in a hurry; these cartons are tough to differentiate!

Now, imagine being in a hurry; these cartons are tough to differentiate!

I can’t remember if I was in a hurry, thinking of something else, or just not awake.  It was around 10:00 am, so I can’t use the pitch black cover of night as an excuse, I just know that I couldn’t wait to get a nice refreshing gulp of my home made iced caramel coffee.  With lots of cream.  I really poured a lot in, as I wanted this particular drink to be extra smooth.

Flash backward to three days ago

Scene:  kitchen

Scenario:  ants everywhere

Action:  RAID everything down

Now move forward to this disaster in the making.

I carefully opened the sugar container, which is in an airtight container because of the continual ant problem, and scoop in two spoonfuls for just the perfect amount of sweetness, toss in a handful of ice and pour the already cooled coffee in my cup.  I stir it up real good, my mouth salivating at the anticipation.  We raise it to our lips, and drink.

Now, have you ever noticed that when you’re anticipating a certain flavor of your food or drink, and the taste isn’t quite right, it takes a moment for your brain to process this; and when it does – YUCK!  My first reaction was to investigate the drink itself, like that’s gonna help, and no, it didn’t.  Then I thought – oh, crap.  The RAID must have somehow got into the sugar – ack!  Yes, that’s how bad it was.

After convincing myself that if, in fact, I had consumed some RAID, it couldn’t hurt me, the amount was so negligible.  So I poured out the drink and left the house to run some errands, leaving everything on the counter.  When I returned, I noticed that someone had left the buttermilk on the counter.  The only person who drinks buttermilk is my husband, who is out of town and couldn’t possibly have brought it out.

And that’s when it hit me.  And I laughed so hard.  Hope you do too!

Let's hear what you're thinking!

