Kit-bashed baby blanket!

Carefully arranged blanket pic...

Carefully arranged blanket pic…

Some boo-boos that I had to hazard because I loved all the yarns I used.

I finished my niece’s baby blanket in time for the visit!  I have used a kit modeler’s term “kit-bashed”, meaning to put a model together using pieces from other kits because it really fits with this quickie project (can we say “kit” one more time?).  I personalized the colors from a very simple pattern at Lionbrand.com, added a border of my own making to go around each individual square and then again around the whole blanket, then snagged a cute owl applique from Laura Maxell’s blog and made some small revisions on that (see the feet and eyes!)  All in all, it was easy to do; however, the yarn colors I wanted were not all from the same manufacturer and I really wanted the colors/texture of the other yarns, so I took that chance.   As you can see, the squares were not as symmetrical as I would have liked, but I believe it was worth it, especially when I saw my niece see it in person (she follows my Facebook page!).  All’s well that ends well!  What have you guys been working on?

4 thoughts on “Kit-bashed baby blanket!

    • Oh, you still know how to knit – ! It’s just like riding a bike. If you’re ever inclined to pick it up again, there’s a ton of tutorials online, including a few by yours truly. And I, too, hope this blankee makes it to my grandniece’s majority.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

