Is it done yet?

The left and right fronts, and the very beginnings of the back.

The left and right fronts, and the very beginnings of the back.

On September 25th, I set a goal of one month to have this lovely sweater completed.  With two days remaining, the due date looms ever nearer and I’m not even halfway through.  Instead of getting my groove on with cute items and gifts for family and friends this Christmas season, I’ve been mired in an ordeal!  I’m not one of those clever crafters who can have more than one project going at a time.  Coming from a person who thinks, works, and sometimes even speaks in a circular fashion, when it comes to my crafts, curiously, I’m a one-at-a-timer.   Mostly.  My husband works for the Union Pacific as a conductor, and as part of his job, he gets outside at all times of the day (and night) to walk the train for safety inspections.  The route he works takes him over the Donner Summit, and that’s a mighty cold place to be in the winter, especially in the middle of the night, so I made him a heavy-duty cowl.    It took less than a day.  Easy, quick, useful and gratifying.

Detail of right front

Detail of right front

But I digress.  My issue is that I’ve been struggling with some basics, such as counting, and it’s making me mad.

My most recent frog involved a dropped stitch – a dropped stitch!!!  I can’t remember the last time I dropped a stitch.  On the bright side, I have been discovering how to creatively undo and redo stitch types while picking up dropped stitches from 6 rows back and not having to frog.  That is a good thing.  But I want to wear this and not be working on it – wah!  And in my world, when a project is finished, I have at least another

Look at this beautiful yarn!

Look at this beautiful yarn!

lined up and waiting…but that’s another entry.

Happy crafting!

2 thoughts on “Is it done yet?

Let's hear what you're thinking!

