Give a hoot mittens – done!

DSC_0007-1 - Copy

Zipping along nicely…several months ago!

DSC_0003 (2)-1 - Copy

The finished product. I’m not going to bother with block or shaping because they look fine when they’re on my hands!

These mittens were surprisingly easy to knit, even though it was my first time making any kind of hand items.  I finished the left hand mitten several months back, and then I started the leaves sweater and I didn’t want anything to interrupt that ordeal.  When the sweater project was all wrapped up, I immediately resumed this and finished the right hand mitten in a matter of hours.  Wheee!  It felt like a vacation!

I did have some issues with a term I wasn’t familiar with – the “skip”, which I had to look up because I was confusing it with a “slip”.  You will notice I have not put on the eyes.  I’ve decided not to, because I can be really rough on decorative (and functional) buttons.  You can tell it’s supposed to be an owl anyway.  I’ve also noticed that in the representational images, the cuff isn’t as long as mine.  I don’t know if that’s my personal take on it, or are mine longer?  Either way, doesn’t matter.  They’re still too cool.

A really cute, fast, weekend project for you owl lovers and those of you who are needing instant gratification.  Here’s the link:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/give-a-hoot

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Give a hoot mittens – done!

    • Aren’t they just the shiznit? I didn’t add the buttons because I use these while walking the dogs and the handles would tear them out in a hot New York second. (80s flashback alert!)

Let's hear what you're thinking!

