Something old, something new, something messed up and I’m blue

2013 was a banner year as far as learning new techniques, meeting great, helpful, new people online and for actually sticking with a linear project schedule.  I averaged around 13 finished items, some required that I step out of my comfort zone.  For years, I have wanted to knit socks.  *deep breath*  I finally finished a pair.  With double pointed needles.  No cheater-mageeter magic loop technique here; though I must in all honesty add, that I do love it!  It has made for some quick and easy hats and mittens.

Looks ok from this angle.  Fairly good stitching and a pretty color.

Looks ok from this angle. Fairly good stitching and a pretty color.

But I digress.  The socks.  O, woe is me.  I thought I had done something wrong constructing the first sock, but what exactly, I don’t know.  I found it fit my daughter’s foot very well, so I endeavored to make the pair for her.  I figured, in my faulty way, that if I did exactly what I did the first time, I would get the exact results.  You see,  I’m not sure what I did wrong, so I couldn’t quite repeat myself.  And the second sock came out the way it should have…the first time!  Argh!  So when we tried on the second sock, I laughed so hard I had trouble standing up.

The difference!

The difference!

Eh – live and learn.  What this did teach me  is that I love me some double-pointed knitting and I got some more sock yarn and a whole pattern book to peruse and drool over!

In the meantime, I have another set of mitts that I’ll be knocking out first.  Wish me luck!

Yarn for next sock project!

Yarn for next sock project!

4 thoughts on “Something old, something new, something messed up and I’m blue

  1. I’ve come across your blog via several others and your sock photo made me laugh. Thank you for sharing it, makes me feel a little better about some of the things I’ve knitted over the years.
    I love the wrist warmers – the colour of the button against the wool is just perfect.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

