Machined or Hand-knit

While at the doctor’s office yesterday, I had a conversation with the resident nurse.  She asked me what I did for a living, and I told her I was unemployed but currently knitting and crocheting and doing the blogging thing.  She seemed amused enough and started talking about all the new innovations in creating knitted products, without actually knitting, such as the loom.  I whined about this point, saying, “But it’s not knitting!”  Needless to say, that kit-boshed the whole conversation, but it did get my thinking.  Is it still knitting when the finished product looks like knitting but you didn’t knit it?  Yes, yes, I understand that the sweaters one buys at a store are not hand-knit.  Unless the label says hand-knit.

So what am I getting at?  I think I have a problem with crafters taking too many short-cuts.  Yes, there are new techniques to do any number of things in crocheting and knitting, but the fact of the matter is, you’re still CROCHETING with a hook or KNITTING with needles.  When you start using a machine exclusively to get you’re sweaters made, then you’re not knitting, and I don’t believe it can be termed “hand-knit”.   Same as crocheting looms.  That’s not crochet.  Can it still be considered a craft?  Well…sure, but it needs another name!  Is it still art?  Ohh, that’s a gray area.

What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Machined or Hand-knit

Let's hear what you're thinking!

