Wardrobe Failure

Sometimes the actions of others that appear peculiar at the time are painfully enlightened later on.  This was one of those days.

I live in the mountains and once a week I make a trek to the grocery store, craft store, etc., and pick up a week’s supply of pretty much everything.  Being on a single-income budget, I go where the prices are lowest, and unfortunately, we all know this means…dumdumdaahhhh – Wal-Mart.

I had no make-up, fairly ragged, but CLEAN, clothes on and my hair was yesterday’s style.  I thought, “Eh.  It’s just Wal-Mart.”  Now I did drop off at Jo-Ann crafts, of course, (thinking of selling some items on Etsy, including the bunny) and rummaged around there for about an hour, getting excited over all the fun stuff they have.  Dangerous store.  Then I headed to Wallyworld.

At some point during my excursion through the megastore, I noticed some young men who were snickering when they saw me.  They’d look down the aisle, see me, snortch, and turn away.  Maybe I’m paranoid.  Maybe not.  This happened like two times.  I thought it was unusual and wondered what they’d been smoking/drinking.  I had a nice chat with the cashier and was shocked by the total.  I mean, I did make some extraneous purchases this time, but dang!  I walked out to my car, got in and drove back home.  Normal.  Except for the snortchers.

When I got home I did some chores and felt it was time for a break.  As I sat down on the couch, I heard a small rip, and I knew then.  My favorite pants were dead.  I reached around, feeling for a small break in the cloth and was shocked.  What I found was this:

How did I not feel a draft?

How did I not feel a draft?

I was dumbfounded.  I walked around in this all day?  How did I not see this when I put them on?  How did I not feel the draft?  I kinda laughed, thinking, “Oh, well.  At least I amused someone.”  Then it dawned on me.  I’m probably going to see myself on a Wal-Martian page or something along those lines.

So.  If you see a viral pic of an overweight, middle-aged woman with red hair, glasses, no make-up and her calzones showing through the rend in her pants, it’s probably going to be ME.  And if so, I’ve probably already seen it.  And I’ll laugh just like everyone else!

2 thoughts on “Wardrobe Failure

  1. Hi there. You’re the first blogger I’ve come across using the Splendia theme like me. I originally chose it just to get some color down. Your blog looks so much nicer. I’m in the throws of redesigning-I’m technically lame and almost as bad at anything requiring a needle and thread.You work is quite lovely and your words quite honest and light. As for your pants mishap, no worries. I’ve walked around with stickers on my posterior, rips (don’t want to say where) and other assortments of mucky moments, but alas, we persevere don’t we…
    Nice meeting you and thank you for sharing your talents.
    AnnMarie
    newbie blogger

    • Hey, Anne! I’m no whiz-bang in design either, but I think it helps that I don’t have two teen-age sons! Empty nest and enjoying it! Thanks for the compliment!

Let's hear what you're thinking!

