Why one shouldn’t change a vision midway through a project

I had grown tired of crocheting so many items.  Crochet is a wonderful thing.  What I like most about it is that a project, even a larger one,

So sturdy it stands on its own!

So sturdy it stands on its own!

moves way faster than knitting.  But I love knitting, because I like what you can make with it.  And I love the feel of the needles.  However, I do have a schedule of projects, believe it or not, and knitting just didn’t show up in any of these.  (Since then, I have modified that.  You’ll see!)  Anyway, with a relatively clear idea of what I wanted in mind, I started out making a hat.  The yarn wasn’t exactly what I wanted, but we’d make it work.  When I’m finished with the brim, I get a brilliant idea.  Hey – why don’t we add some seed stitching for interest?  Sure, why not?  A few rows after that, I’m jonesing to try out my new cable needle/hook, and I think, Let’s throw some cables in here!  Sure, why not?

This hat does not merit a glamour shot

This hat does not merit a glamour shot

I can almost hear the knitters out there, sighing in dismay.  Yea, yea.  I did it.  Good news, though.  My husband adopted this very warm and still wearable cap because his job takes him over Donner Pass, and in the winter, at night, it’s brutal.  Also, he’s alone so no one can see it  LOL!

2 thoughts on “Why one shouldn’t change a vision midway through a project

  1. Aw, I don’t think it’s all that terrible! Plus it gave you an opportunity to try out some new stuff. It can’t have been THAT bad if your husband agreed to wear it, right?

Let's hear what you're thinking!

