I Just Don’t Get Socks!

A great palette...

A great palette…

I’ve been crocheting a lot these days.  A lot.  In fact, every project I do seems to be crochet.  I love crocheting because it moves so fast, it’s easy, and versatile.  Because of the larger portion of my crafts appears to be crochet, I’m wondering if I should have come up with a different business name such as “Crocheting Crook” or “Hookin’ Mama”.  You see why I went with Nittin’ Ninja….  Anyway, I got to a point where I just came to a stop.  Writers call it a block, runners call it a wall, and I don’t know what else anyone calls it other than I got stuck.  I was working on a cute little zebra outfit for a baby photo prop and I got stumped on how to create a cute face.  Needless to say, I haven’t done the ears or the obligatory braids, but I truly couldn’t come up with a likeable  muzzle, and button eyes were just a big nothing.  Maybe I need to get the mane and ears on and every thing else will fall into place.  See what I mean?  So I’m done for awhile because…

unnamed (1)

We’ve only just begun.

I have started knitting another pair of socks.  For those of you who have read any of my previous entries while I’ve been working on socks, you’re probably rolling your eyes.  Why, Glenda?  Why are you starting another pair?  Because I want to learn socks!  I’ve knit five pairs and used three different patterns in order to get a good fit, and possibly to understand the whole process.  I recently purchased “Sock Knitting: Master Class” by Ann Budd and intend to use that…after I finish these socks!  My problem lies in the short rows, the gusset and whatever else.  These areas are always talked about, but for some reason, it ain’t gellin’.  I figure if I keep following a pattern and keep trying, I’ll remember and one day it’s going to make sense – BOOYAH!  LOL.

How did you guys overcome any learning disabilities, crafts related or otherwise?

See you in the funny pages.

5 thoughts on “I Just Don’t Get Socks!

  1. I learned using the free pattern “Rye” from TinCanKnits. It has written directions, schematics, and is very easy to follow. It’s also in a larger gauge needle and yarn. I highly recommend finding on Ravelry!!

  2. I found a flap-and-gusset heel much easier to master than a short row heel. Maybe that would work for you, too. Also, check out The Knitter’s Book of Socks by Clara Parkes for good information on choosing the right yarn, plus advice on heels, fit, and elasticity; and 2-at-a-Time Socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes for a breakdown of sock anatomy and a step-by-step ILLUSTRATED instructions on knitting a mini-sock for practice.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

