The Digital Age

10645289_10152361571820740_6680762984255085695_nI happened upon a yarn funny the other day, and it got me thinking.  How many of us have anything we consider worth saving that isn’t digital?  I live up here in the (dry) forests of Northern California, and summer can be just absolutely nerve wracking.  You’re always checking the skies and sniffing the air for the unmistakeable signs of a wildfire.  So far, none have come within evacuation distance.

Strangely enough, my first experience with that was when we first moved up to NorCal and lived in a suburban subdivision.  Behind our wooden fence was acres of land that had yet to be developed.  You know the kind of place I’m talking about.  Since 2008, there have been many such neighborhoods.  Anyway, it was Labor Day, people were out barbecuing, partying, having a good time.  The wind was brisk and someone’s grill let loose some sparks, and there you have it.  The evacuation was a mess, so we ended up going to the local bar and ordering some beer and lighting up a cigarette.  For those of you who don’t know it, I stopped smoking in 1987.  I felt this was a good time to blaze one up again.  It wasn’t; it just gave me a headache.

When we were given the green light to go back home, I had time to assess what we took in our 5 minutes of warning.

  1. The pets
  2. Some random clothes we threw in a suitcase – plenty of underwear!
  3. My external hard drive backup (didn’t have a laptop at the time)
  4. My camera bag stuffed with my cameras, lenses, hood, flash, etc
  5. A folder filled with house and insurance documentation

That was it.  The list pretty much remains the same, except I would include my laptop (so I could blog about it!!!) and drop the folder.  And maybe my most current yarn project.  Everything else is online.  It’s amazing how much “stuff” I have on my laptop, and if I were to lose it, the agony!  When did this happen?  I can’t even imagine what an evacuation would have meant for us back in the 80s!  I mean, if I had to live with the bare minimums, there you have it.  What we’re doing with all this other stuff we have cram into our houses…Gee, I don’t know.  Do you?

Just some food for thought.

See you in the funny pages!

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Digital Age

  1. I would try to grab all of my books, my yarn, needles, and hooks and things like our photo albums and a couple other important things like my little accordion file holder and our animals, I would most likely just grab my phone, my Kindle Paperwhite, and my phone charger, but I really can’t think of too many digital things I would grab, I can do pretty much everything digitally from my phone.

    It’s definitely food for thought, and all too many people take their security for granted.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

