The Contents of My Purse

I think it will be the bane and boon for every woman over the age of 44: the well-stocked purse.  You know…the middle-aged woman who works with you in your office; the go-to lady when you have a headache, an acidic stomach, or your button has fallen off and you’ll get either a safety pin, or some highly skilled tailor services for free and said button is repaired.  When disaster befalls your office, she is the one with some chocolate to soothe the nerves, and perhaps, even, a book that materializes out of her magic bag to distract or inform the beleaguered office worker.

Ah, yes. A random pic of the interior of my purse to illustrate my point. Beanos, hand sanitizer, aspirin, cough drops, kleenex, and I know there’s Immodium and Tums in there somewhere!

After all the services you have received from her, there is still a little joke that runs around the office about her age. Yes, the old lady’s purse, and the more she carries, the older she is. And you will never do that, because you’ll be young forever…Or something to that effect.

Yet here I am, carrying, in effect, the contents of a pharmacy. (See image) I have also come to the conclusion that, as I grow older, I don’t care what the young ones think; I’m a middle-aged woman who doesn’t want to feel uncomfortable just so I can be hip, because that’s not happening no matter what I do!

So go ahead and feel smug in your youth. Make the jokes, because I’m going to laugh at them also, knowing eventually, the joke is ultimately on all of us!

4 thoughts on “The Contents of My Purse

  1. This is hilarious! I USED to be the go-to for all that stuff. I finally figured out (doh!) I don’t have to be if I don’t want to. :)) No more diaper bag contents for me.

  2. Yeah! Great. I am not ashamed to say that I am oldy,but when it comes to any emergency outside the house, shopping or on in the park I the one always coming out with things in by bag with ointment, plasters sewing thred, buttons, wet wipes, cutter, sicssors, sellotape,pain killers, cloth bag, nail clipper and you name it what not. When I come up with things to help out somebody,I am always commended. Like ” you are great” or “how clever”, so I don’t care even if youngesters laugh at me but in the end they are the ones who need help? True.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

