Sick and Struck (rather belatedly) with an Epiphany

As I was sitting here on my deck – yes, lovely weather in CA, wish it wasn’t -, trying to get some fresh air to counteract my sickness, perusing my crochet and knit groups on FB and being overwhelmed by Pinterest entries, it struck me.  Yes, the epiphany.  (And yes, I’m still on my deck.)

As I see all the beautiful, and maybe not so beautiful, entries from everyone who pitches in to the communal internet soup of fiber arts, yarn arts, whatever, I look at all the feedback and think how it wonderful it is.  These artists willing to share their work with, well, virtually, the world.  And the reason my title mentions belatedly, is because until just today, I didn’t notice anyone’s color.  I don’t mean their projects, I mean the contributors themselves.

And that was the epiphany.

Artists from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, India, North America, and South America are all represented.  Sorry Antarctica, you need to get busy.  Also, my apologies to the island nations; your entries are too numerous to write down – kudos for you!

I like to consider myself without prejudice, but I seriously doubt it; and if you say you aren’t, well, maybe you know something I don’t, and please tell me.  The ugly reality of prejudice is that we all have some, but the good and bad thing is, we’re humans.  The same inherent, ancient xenophobia that we are all born with, can be overcome with diligence and understanding.  I imagine back in caveman times and before, this fear of “outlanders” was a good thing (you’re not from my tribe); but as ever expanding means of communication has improved, our fear of other cultures has subsided, but not gone away. Mind you, I’m not saying to go fearlessly and naively out into the world, there is danger, but it’s changed.  And it has for quite some time.  But you get my point.  We all harbor some irrational prejudice.  My internal optimist thinks that most people are very conscientiously trying to overcome this ugliness, and winning, including myself.

One avenue to pursue in this altruistic hope?  Take up knitting and/or crocheting, and go online.  There, you will find the most colorblind community ever.

But how many of you already knew this?

5 thoughts on “Sick and Struck (rather belatedly) with an Epiphany

  1. This is so very true, when we look at the talent that is being displayed on FB or Twitter, we don’t care who made it; just that it’s beautiful or ( not) and does it cause my creative juices to flow. I personally have seen some of the most unique garments on FB, and this has caused me to make more clothing than I have in years, thinking “Oh, that’s lovely, think I’ll make one”. If we all just look for the beauty, we will forget about the race or ethnicity.

    • I had actually taken quite a hiatus from knitting and crocheting after moving back to California. Even after I got a computer, I was totally ignorant of a knitting or crocheting community at all. It wasn’t until 3 years ago, my daughter showed me a picture of Twinkie Chan’s Bacon and Eggs scarf (see my FB page pic!) that the old lightbulb turned on in my head. Now I can’t get enough, there’s so much inspiration and beautiful work out there!

  2. I love that you tackled this subject in such a thought provoking way. I had a comment on Instagram and the poster wrote #sistasknit2 and I immediately thought oh wait I shouldn’t knit because I’m black? I never ever thought that, but clearly others do, so thank you for seeing the talent over the race. You Rock and I hope you feel better.

  3. How thought provoking. It reminds me of watching a Sheruknitting video on YouTube; a phantom designer, all hands and voice, speaking to me in what I could only presume was Russian. I’d no idea what she was saying, but followed along and thought I really like her.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

