Working with Fingering Yarn for a Top

Am I out of my mind? I hope not. I found a cute tank I could knit and the pattern called for sportweight yarn, but I was able to find a comparable fingering weight.  Correction:  an expensive comparable fingering weight made of cotton, bamboo and silk. High definition for the pattern – not

A foresee some blocking in my future.

A foresee some blocking in my future.

that it’s needed; it’s a simple 3x rib.  Period.  I need something a little mind-numbing, and the toy rabbit still isn’t finished because I was having to do too much thinking.

Anyway, I wanted a summery top after working with all that heavy winter wool.  This will also be the first article of clothing, that’s not an accessory, I’ve made in a long time.  The last one I made took my three months, and it came out way too big.  So I deliberately threw a wool sweater into the dryer.  Now, the arms a bit short, and all the detail work is lost due to the felting effect, but I still wear it!  I didn’t spend three months on that just to throw it away, dorkified or not.

 

3 thoughts on “Working with Fingering Yarn for a Top

Let's hear what you're thinking!

