Sleep Knitting?

I purchased some yarn for a project about two weeks ago, and I was excited to get started on it, but I’ve been working on Christmas gifts.  I tried to get a head start on those back in July, but didn’t get around to it until September.  Typical.  They’re almost done, but I just couldn’t wait.  Breaking my rule about having no more than one project going at a time (I’m usually good at keeping this rule – honest!), last night I cast on the stitches with a feeling of guilty pleasure normally reserved for chocolate.  I had been working and running all day and was more than a little tired,

Tentative beginnings...

Tentative beginnings…and yes, I’m writing this while lying in bed since I refuse to get up until hunger or sheer boredom impels me out of it!

but I wanted to play “ketchup”.  Surprisingly, I was able to get more than a few inches done, considering I’m working with 122 stitches and worsted weight yarn.

Then it hit.  A busy day of activity and it’s 9:30 pm; can’t keep eyes open.  Must.  Knit.  More.

Suddenly, my eyes open.  When did they close?  I look down at my hands that are still holding the needles, yarn still twined around my fingers on my right hand for proper tension.  Wha…?  I blink my eyes, notice that I’m further along than I remember and look around in sleepy confusion.  Did the knitting elves show up and continue for me?  I run a hand over my brow, now thoroughly baffled.  And since I am primed to carry on, I do.

It’s not until a turn the row do I notice that the knitting elves are a confused lot because:

#1) I’m picking up dropped stitches more than once;

#2) Tension was maintained properly so the stitches that weren’t dropped are uniform in appearance.

It would be a wonderful innovation if I could fall asleep and wake up with the project half done, but I still have a few kinks to work out!

 

3 thoughts on “Sleep Knitting?

Let's hear what you're thinking!

