And I’m Still Not Done

My Thanksgiving was unexpectedly small, but relaxing.  We hadn’t planned for a gigantic gala to begin with, but my daughter opted to dine with friends and my husband got called in for work, so with only two of us in attendance for this annual pig-out, I was able to streamline the menu and relax, unlike most other years.  Instead of cooking a whole turkey, I got a breast and threw it in the crock pot with some chicken broth and seasonings, believing this would alleviate the inherent dryness.  I’m sure if I’d been a little more diligent that it would have turned out fine; however, I learned that yes, you can still overcook in a slow cooker.  *sigh*  Everything else turned out fine and my mother and I were able to gobble away.

As for making all of my Christmas gifts before Black Friday, somehow, I’ve managed not to even after getting a head start in September.  It’s not that they’re incredibly complex, it’s just that there were other obligations, life got busy and here we are.  I have only to finish one more hat that’s about halfway done, but it’s been lying neglected in one of my many project bags, just waiting for me to pick it up again.  I imagine having company doesn’t help.  After my mother had been here for a few days she asked me, “Do you ever not knit or crochet?”  I took this as a sign that she wanted me to pay more attention to her.  So the unfinished hat remains…just that.

My mom should have been a concert pianist...really.

My mom should have been a concert pianist…really.

Since we both can't hear, if we're in a noisy environment, we text each other!

Since we both can’t hear, if we’re in a noisy environment, we text each other!

I have also discovered that if I take my Foxy Hooded Cowl to consignment shops, they sell.  They don’t sell on Etsy, but they sell locally.  Good enough.  I closed the account anyway.  So, any of you crocheters who want a little extra cash this season, you may have a little cash cow pattern here.

Aside from being derailed on my Christmas gifts schedule, it’s all been good.  How was your turkey day?

 

 

Let's hear what you're thinking!

