Frogging and Illegal Burning

The offenders...looking innocent

The offenders…looking innocent

This always happens to me when I’m working on a pullover or a sweater! It’s so frustrating.  The yards of yarn that seem to crawl under your laboring fingers – instead of flying! – as you toil through 29 inches of stockinette stitch.  And to further exacerbate the process, I’m having trouble with the openwork pattern for the sleeves.  It’s a really simple pattern consisting of four stitches:  k2, yo, k2tog repeat across.  But I’m always forgetting the yo, and frogging lace or open work such as this creates an even bigger problem for me.  I’m currently working on a row that has the correct number of stitches, but because I had to frog about half of it, now the pattern doesn’t match up.  *sigh*  After having totally starting over, I have decided no one will notice and I’m carrying on.  But wait – the second frog lead to an incorrect number of stitches that I didn’t catch until I had to start shaping and counting again, so I frogged a third time!!!  We now have the correct number of stitches, the correct pattern set in, the correct number of rows.

The last couple of days have been warm and dry enough to start cleaning up the yard.  It’s been so lovely wet that all the pine needles and branches have been saturated, making fire starting a real pain.  I did try about a month ago during a break in the weather to work on reducing the piles of leaves, but it literally took me 30 minutes to get a flame started, and by the time the fire was going good, it started raining.  So yesterday, with every good intent to finally get the show on the road, my husband and I were piling on the branches and getting a good smoke going, when he turns to me and asks, “Glenda, did you check to see if it’s a burn day?”  I looked at him like he was insane.  Burn day?  Why wouldn’t it be?  It’s winter and it’s been raining pretty much non-stop for the last two months.  I bickered with him on this logic for a about 20 minutes before I gave in and checked.  Guess what?  Yup.  No burning allowed.  Period.  With great haste, we had to douse the lovely fire and hope that someone hadn’t reported us already.  I felt like such a criminal!  Why would the fire department do that?  My husband then explained it’s not only just for fire that they restrict burning but air quality for the whole county.   *sigh*  Today, I dutifully checked the status and yes, we are cleared to burn away.  Just a cautionary tale to always check with your local authorities before burning!!

Let's hear what you're thinking!

