The Five Stages of…

making an error/finding an error in your current knit or crochet project.

5 stages... (1)What started as a joke posting on my Facebook page, actually made me do some rethinking about the 5 stages of grief.  It was 3:00 am and I’d just discovered that a pattern I’d downloaded, printed up and purchased yarn for had not been written correctly.  Maybe someone else who is a sharper tack than I would have caught the error and amended it before they were 3/4 of the way finished.

So, while I was frogging my project, I felt a funny should be made.  You know, the kind of idea you come up with in the wee hours of the morning.  Maybe it was because I was loopy with sleep that I made this connection, but I do believe it’s valid, at least to how I reacted to this particular incident.

When I first realized that it was the pattern and not a misunderstanding on my part, I thought NO WAY!  (denial); rapidly followed by irritation that I’d gone through all the hoops to make this happen (anger); then I started thinking of ways to fix it at this point (bargaining); but quickly determined, with a sinking heart, that it wasn’t possible (depression); and just started with the frogging (acceptance).

See?  It was all there in a microcosm!

What weird connections have you made recently?

 

Let's hear what you're thinking!

