Wrong, wrong, wrong!

You ever spend way too much time on the wrong project with the wrong yarn at the wrong time of year?  Welcome to the last several weeks of my crafting!  I have been fighting this thing since the beginning.

Several weeks ago I put out an impassioned request for some ideas on how to use the linen stitch.  I rattled off a list of items I didn’t want to make, which included a cowl, but as a proper linen stitch needs to be worked in the round, I was limited.  So what did I do?  I started a cowl.  No big deal.  Except I had to cast on 16 different times because I kept twisting the foundation row.  That is such a rookie mistake, that I should have taken my cue from such an inauspicious start.

I didn’t.

The yarn is Malabrigo that I’ve had tucked away in a bag in my closet for over a year, and I wanted to use it.  I even rescued a snarled skein that had previously kept me from using the yarn at all – that’s how bad I wanted to get this thing started!  As for a pattern, I was loosely basing in on Kristen Kapur’s Chickadee Cowl, but not having too much success.  The yarn combination was just wrong for me.  So now it sits, rewound and back on its shelf in the closet, awaiting a more suitable project.

Doing the Eye of Partridge stitch for the heel and loving it.

In the meantime, I figure it’s never a wrong time to work on socks!

See you in the funny pages.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Wrong, wrong, wrong!

  1. I don’t know how much yarn you have to work with, but I found a few non-cowl/scarf atterns that use linen stitch.

    A 3/4 sleeve V-neck cardigan here: http://archiknist.blogspot.com/2008/03/and-another-one.html

    Socks: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/linen-toes

    Pullover: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/linen-stitch-pullover

    Sleeveless shell: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/linen-stitch-shell

    I keep intending to try an eye-of-partridge heel. Maybe next time I make socks.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

