Purses and Baby Blankets

Every time I have to jostle around in my designer purse, frantically searching for my keys, I have a big jones to make another purse, but I hate the idea of having to sew. There are a few of you that will be thinking “Wait. Aren’t you a knitter/crocheter? Why the sewing?”  This question would also lead me to believe that you haven’t made a knit or crochet purse before.  For a good, sturdy purse that will take the daily beating I give mine, I must sew a foundation.  The knit and crochet part is merely the icing on the cake.  I do have some old blue jeans in my sewing project box….that have been in there for at least two years!  This may be the opportunity I’ve been looking for.  Just this evening, after my

daughter had taken me out to a lovely Thai dinner in Nevada City and we were walking the half-mile or so back to the car, there it was.  I had to stop everything I was doing to find my damn keys and it made me so furious!  I was thinking of using the jeans material for the sides and bottom, then crocheting some funky designs on the front and back.  Any further input would be welcome!  The faster I make it, the faster I can get started on…

Baby blanket.  A friend of mine wants me to incorporate this:

somewhere onto a knit baby blanket.  Not the writing, just the skull and circle.  Now how am I going to do that?  Any experienced stranders out there?  Or am I just going to need to do duplicate stitching?  I have two other friends that are expecting, but not as far along, so, hopefully, I’ll be finished with this in time for their baby showers!

Any and all suggestions for the skull head would be greatly appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Purses and Baby Blankets

  1. Transfer the image to graph paper and chart it out. Working it as intarsia rather than stranded will be better. The black outlines might be best as duplicate stitch, but I think you could work them as part of the regular knitting.

Let's hear what you're thinking!

