Seasonal Cash Idea for the Crocheters

shopping-card-of-moneyHey, everybody. It’s getting to be that time of year where some of us need a little extra cash. I discovered a decent consignment shop where I take my work and have someone else sell it.  The cut is a bit higher than I would like, but this shop really moves it because there’s a bunch of foot traffic. You pay for location no matter what, huh?

The finished product from my pattern

The finished product from my pattern

Anyway, I have found that my Foxy Hooded Cowl is a big seller.  As a crafter,  what makes this particular design so attractive is that it’s not tremendously expensive to make, is quick to work up (usually no more than three hours) and it’s just so darned cute it won’t sit on the shelves long.  You actually feel like you’re making some money, versus just paying for the materials!

Does anyone else do this on a regular?  What are your big sellers?  Do you mix up crafts?  Let me know!

8 thoughts on “Seasonal Cash Idea for the Crocheters

  1. Ooh Pleeeeezeee help me with this. I just downloaded your Foxy Hooded Cowl pattern and also shared it to my amazing crochet group run by Kim Guzman. It’s an AMAZING group with almost 80,000 members !! Made amazing of course, because of our wonderful Admin. Anyways, lots of lines and comments coming in. (Oops. Actually, I was asking for it and Kim shared it to me) (Sorry, need coffee, lol) Anyways, I understand the pattern is for babies, with a very easy way to adjust in increments of 4 stitches) Unfortunately, I have a brain injury that at times, picks and chooses things to occasionally give me a hard time. Right now, this is 1 of them. Can you help me? I’ve stared at the pattern a very long time and no matter how long I stare today, it’s just not coming to me today and I sooooo want to get started 😯. I need it for a 9yr old. I have a feeling you’re gonna tell me to measure her head, but she lives out of state, so I’m hoping maybe you have a *guess-timate* for how many stitches. If not, and I get her mom to measure her head, how do I apply that as far as the pattern goes, Like, say, her head is (IDK-?) 19 inches? Can you tell me how I would apply that # to the pattern? Also, would her neck/shoulders also have to be measured? And can you tell me how I would adjust that # ? I know this is probably a very dumb question and probably a very easy formula, I just can’t *get it* right now for some reason, ANY help would be appreciated. Thanx so much for sharing your pattern with us. That is so kind and generous of you. xoxo, Audrey

    • Funny you should ask that as I’m working on this myself right now, trying to get some ready for selling. As for the sizing, I may need to re-write the pattern because I have found that the sizing I have may be a bit too much. I would increase the chain by 4, so start with 40 ch. As for the rows, I would increase by 2. For attaching the cowl, you’ll want to work in 37 sc, and have ch 8. Keep everything else the same. Have fun with it!

      • Oh wow !! Didn’t know you’d reply right here. I’m new to this. THANK YOU SO, SO, SO MUCH !!! I’m so excited!! I put it up cuz I didn’t know what I was doing, I asked so many and got so many different answers and links to different patterns but I wanted this 1, so I was so sad. Okay, so you are saying, chain 40 for a 9yr old ? And, at first, I’m just making a rectangle for the hood right?/Then gonna close up the back? I don’t know why I’m having so much trouble understanding. It’s not your pattern. That’s perfect. I have a brain injury and sometimes just need things spelled out for me til it starts to click. Thank you for being so kind as to taking the time Help me understand and to plain and simple tell me how many to chain. I think I’m well on my way with even just that ! The only drawback might be me, driving you crazy asking questions. lol. Thank you so very much for getting back to me. I’m gonna get started tonight. I can’t wait. You got a gazillion likes on your pattern and it was actually Kim Guzman herself that gave me the link because I couldn’t find my copy. I was looking and couldn’t find it. Kim posted It in the comments!! Okay, gotta go grab my yarn for tonight!! 😉❤😉🌹😉❤😉xoxo

Let's hear what you're thinking!

