You Gotta Know When To Hold ‘Em…

…know when to fold them, know when to walk away and know when to run…

Now that I’ve got you thinking of that famous Kenny Rogers song, I do want to assure you there’s a reason I bring it up.  Actually, you’ve probably already seen the image that has me fleeing from my latest project.  The

The offending article. Notice I've already taken it off the needles in preparation for frogging!
The offending article. Notice I’ve already taken it off the needles in preparation for frogging!

colors and the transitions just didn’t come out the way I had envisioned.  It was supposed to represent the layers of ocean coming up to the breakers represented by the open wave lace, and then the green for earth.  After the three or four frogs I had to do, I figured it was time for this to go away….

I had recently finished two projects that took way longer than I thought they should and I didn’t want this top to take forever, so I chose an exceedingly simple box top style with no shaping whatsoever, and a cotton yarn that would be easy upkeep for casual summer wear.  When the design for the color transition had to be modified three times, I settled on the last one, even though it still wasn’t what I had originally imagined.  When the colors didn’t want to jive, I had to modify that several times before finding another color of the same type of yarn I’d had in my stash.  My husband joked that I could reimagine this as a Nordic beach.  But it wasn’t until the open wave lace work that made me give it up.  Oh, well.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Author: Glenda

A knitter, crocheter, and sometimes photographer, definitely in a major romance with my laptop!

2 thoughts on “You Gotta Know When To Hold ‘Em…”

  1. Hi !
    When I last saw this you were sswitching to the purple and it looked good ! So just a suggestion, why not repeat with the pattern/colors you’ve used so far up to and including the purple ? Just a thought ……:)

I love reading your comments - type away!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.